You could say that I’ve been a media whore lately — due to the fact that we have this lovely internet thing here, there are so many ways to archive and keep video snippets of interviews, presentations, and more all in one place.

channel 5 interview

A few weeks ago I was on a rather amusing early Sunday morning local TV show called “Bay Sunday”< along with “The Way That We Rhyme” exhibition curator Berin Golonu and we talked with interviewer Sydnie Kohara about the show. It was taped at the Channel 5 KPIX/CBS-5 tv station downtown and it was really strange to sit at a pseudo-CNN style desk and yammer on about feminism and art and the like.

Picture 9.png

And then I just noticed that the panel discussion “The Political is Personal” that I was a part of a few weeks ago at the Commonwealth Club of SF has just been archived online and everyone gets to partake in the glory of me expounding the virtues of the Counterfeit Crochet Project. I always think it’s surreal to see oneself on video. Is that really what I sound like? Is that really what I said? omg! The whole panel is rather long, but they indexed it so you can skip on to my segment if you only have ten minutes!

Upcoming is the KQED “Spark” episode that documents my recent studio practice as well as the install and creation of the Counterfeit Crochet Project at Yerba Buena Center for the Arts (that the lovely Berin curated), and it’ll air on TV in about two weeks. Yow! It was a great experience to be a part of the process and work with the editor, Adriane Calo, who was super professional and such a pleasure to be around (along with the fabulous video and sound crew). They really know how to bust out a documentary on a (relatively) shoestring public TV budget it seems :). It’ll air on Channel 9 (KQED) on May 7, at 8pm PST.

And for the record, here’s a radio broadcast by Pacific Time radio program host Nguyen Qui Duc covering the “Forged Realities” show I was a part of last year in Beijing.

The internet is AWESOME. And strange in that it becomes a permanent record of everything that gets videotaped or recorded. wow.

